Write on Wednesday

The Write On Wednesdays Rules: Feel free to get creative with the writing exercises – there isn’t a right or wrong. Please do try to visit the other members of Write On Wednesdays and leave a comment. You can grab the button for Write On Wednesdays from my sidebar.

Write On Wednesdays Exercise 6 – Status Anxiety: Log onto your Facebook/Twitter page and write down the first status update you see.  Set a timer for 5 minutes. Write the first words that come into your head after your prompt. Stop when the buzzer rings. Do this exercise over and over if you wish. If you don’t do the social media thing (there’s bound to be some who haven’t succumbed!) email me and I’ll send you a status update from one of my social media accounts. If you feel uncomfortable about using one of your friend’s status updates, consider using the most recent update on Lamebook, the home of the funniest and lamest Facebook status updates. 

Things to think about:
  • If you would like the other members of W.O.W to give criticism on your writing pieces feel free to mention this at the end of your post. It would help if you can specifically pinpoint the areas for feedback. 
  • This is a learning process for me too. I started W.O.W because I wanted to get better at writing. I don’t have all (any?!) of the answers so please contact me with your ideas and comments!
There you have it. Enjoy. Thanks to Sarah and Naomi for providing this weeks’ writing inspiration! Feel free to post a link to your writing post on our new Facebook Page.

The Anniversary Dinner

I have a decision to make…  Carol looked across the table at her husband, his glasses perched on the end of his nose as he stared intently at the wine list.
‘Red or white?’
‘Red,’ Carol answered. Of course he’d missed the point. He hadn’t been listening for years. No reason to think he’d start now. Carol picked up the highly polished knife and turned it over. Her reflection was distorted, but not enough to hide the loosening skin around her jawline. The sag of her mouth, pulling down like a Persian cat’s. She cluttered the knife onto the table. ‘I’m deciding whether I should stay with you and be bored for the rest of my life or if I should grab my bag and walk out of this pretentious, suburban bistro…’ And head where, she thought, interrupting her own train of thoughts. Byron bloody Bay? Study crystals and yoga? I can’t even say the words out loud.
‘I’ve changed my mind,’ she said. ‘White, something light and fresh.’
You might also enjoy this
17 thoughts on “Write on Wednesday

  1. I wanted her to pick up the edge of the tablecloth and throw the whole thing in the air if only to wake him up!! Loved the bit about the mouth like a Persian cat, I knew EXACTLY what you meant.

  2. I like the scene you create here. I love the image reflected in the knife too… perhaps she’d thinking more than just Byron-bloody-bay!?

  3. Hi Jennifer,
    Thanks for dropping by House of Prowse too.
    I like how you can get an idea of where they are in their lives by just a few well placed words… not listening for years … the jawline. I bet she goes… and I bet she does it in style!
    I’ll follow you for a while – nice to read you x

  4. Hi Jennifer. I like how you got all that from “I’ve got a decision to make”. I’ve only had 10 anniversary dinners but sometimes I wonder! LOL

    Good to see you back again this week. (Enjoying your blog too.)

    Anne @ Domesblissity

  5. Poor Carol! I thought for a moment she’d spoken the words aloud – I’m glad she didn’t, the timing doesn’t seem quite right for her yet.

    You paint quite a picture with your words – loved it!

  6. I thought this was fabulous and I enjoyed reading it. Love that you got so much in between the simple asking and answering of the question! I would like to read more on this. Will she get to Bloody Byron Bay? And I liked the bit about her seeing herself through the reflection in the knife. Thanks for joining in with W.o.W again. I am really enjoying your writing and learning from you too, I think!

    Gill x

    • Thank-you so very much for such a generous comment. One of the big benefits of a writing group is that you do learn from each other. I come away from your pieces feeling just that. I’m so grateful to have found your blog and thanks so much for setting up WoW.
      Funny how some pieces stay with you & I’ve been thinking a lot about Carol. Who she is. So I might push this one a bit more.
      J x

      • I’d really like that, Jennifer.

        I am grateful to have found your blog also. One of the best things about WoW for me is finding so many new blogs by like minded people. Just what I had hoped for!

        Gill x

Leave a Reply

