Write on Wednesday – The Mighty Rewrite

I can’t tell you how much I didn’t want to do this week’s prompt. First of all I hate being asked what my favourite book or film is because I just can’t answer it. It depends on my mood, what I’ve read recently and enjoyed and as soon as I say a title, another one immediately pops into my head. So that was my first dilemma. The second dilemma was then choosing an author, so I settled on the author I most admire right now, which is Hilary Mantel, but it could have been Ian McEwan or A.A. Milne or Peter Carey or Jane Austen.
And I’ve decided on Wolf Hall because I’ve just lent Beyond Black to a friend. And if I’m going to do it, why not take on a Booker Prize Winner.
I’ve kept it as close in structure, style and tone as possible. This was not easy. Zanni, thank-you for such a huge challenge!

The Book that I am in awe of!

‘ Go on. Roll over.’
Bored, naked, withdrawn, she has complied; slumped across the sheets of a hotel room. Her head turns away; her eyes drawn to the window, as if through there she can see her spoon and syringe. A hand on her breast, she groans, it’s mistaken for pleasure. One more, that’s all she needs, and she could afford her next fix.

Ψ
And the original –
‘So, now get up.’
Felled, dazed, silent, he has fallen; knocked full length on the cobbles of the yard. His head turns sideways; his eyes are turned towards the gate, as if someone might arrive to help him out. One blow, properly placed, could kill him now.
Ψ
The Write on Wednesday Rules: Get creative with the exercises. Don’t worry too much about right or wrong. The aim is to Get Writing. Do try to visit the other writers linking up and leave a comment. You can grab the Write on Wednesday button from my sidebar.

Write on Wednesday Exercise 14 – The Mighty Mighty Rewrite…
Zanni: I did a workshop with literary author MJ Hyland, who teachers Masters in Creative Writing at Manchester University. She asked us to choose our favourite book, take the first paragraph and then write our own content into the paragraph, keeping the structure, tone, language etc. It’s really helpful!

No time limit. Let’s keep up the focus on making each word count. Ready? Set? Write!
13 thoughts on “Write on Wednesday – The Mighty Rewrite

  1. I wouldn’t have thought you’d find this challenging Jennifer and you haven’t disappointed. Just excellent! I’d love for you to try it with half a dozen of your favourite books. You’d do them all justice! LOL

    Anne xx

  2. The funny thing about this week is that everyone says it was something they weren’t sure about, something difficult and yet, as I make my way through the posts, I am left impressed and wanting more. And your post did just this…

    Did you like what you ended up with? It really is another very good piece of writing. Same tone, different content. You hit the brief perfectly.

  3. I wouldn’t have known which was the original either. Very hard hitting and powerful and (as has already been said) a whole story in itself.

    Great writing.

  4. Thank-you all very much for such fantastic comments! It was an extraordinary exercise to do, because I had to step right out of my comfort zone & style & adopt that of someone else. But definitely worthwhile.
    Jennifer

  5. Hi Jennifer!

    I’d like to thank you for your suggestion on my piece, it made me think about choosing the right words for the right sentence. That definitely helped me. Would you mind giving again your suggestion next week? I believe you have the skills to give me one as you write fantastically. I guess, I even like your own version than the original (no offense to the author though).=)

    Smiles,

    Andy

Leave a Reply

